Once Upon a Metaphor

We all love to fantasize. A simple idea circled our brain giving birth to different streams of thought until a connection and pattern emerges and the idea evolves into either a mystical character, machine, culture, language or even a new world. After that, books came into existence, and an unlimited supply of awe and wonder continues to thrill the curious minds—and the cycle goes on.

However, as marvelous as the process may seem, most pieces of knowledge usually begins with “a lump in the throat” as quoted by Robert Frost. There are times when an author find it hard to start the piece, either by looking for the perfect words, rhymes or rhythms to use, or as a result of lack of words, found it better to use figures of speech as a means to illustrate or exaggerate a situation.

Furthermore, since the beginning of time, our ancestors used parables, myths and fables to explain the origin of mankind, describe the indescribable and fascinate the younger minds. We all live in a story-stricken world where plain words are just not enough to communicate a thought or feeling. We need to play with words and this is where I begin to recollect some important memories.

I remember when I was an elementary student questioning myself as to why we need to learn about those figures of speech but as I grow older, I realized that using those makes the explanations of things easier. When I reached high school, I was amused when the topic is about idioms and decided to study these literary devices.

I started simply with simile as it basically is a comparison between two similar things connected by using the word ‘like’ or ‘as’ such as making the softness of clouds the softness of things of the same nature. Next, metaphors grow into shape as it did become an apple to my eyes and a key to vast world of poetry.

It was in third year of high school when I started creating my first poem blended with figures of speech entitled, “Brokenhearted,” a poem by which my choice of words clearly unveiled the shadow of Edgar Allan Poe’s melancholy. Thanks to my best friend, Keith that I was able to realize what a great world poetry was and the perfect place for my escape where I could spend my “me time” wholeheartedly. I could say that even right now, my journey with words has not yet reached its peak and yet, my spirit felt a heavenly bliss.

After some experiments with metaphors, I stumbled upon a new concept that covers an analogical representation of expression. It is the extended form of metaphor–Allegory! This happened when I first discovered the treasures left behind by C.S. Lewis who penned “Narnia” and John Bunyan of the “Pilgrim’s Progress.” Until then, the wind has never been the same.

Sometime later, I met a personified glimpse of love, and the feeling was so great that I can’t contain it. Good thing though that words are good containers of feeling and I found myself in that room where I was able to spread such feelings. In that place, moments are captured in stillness, time is forever frozen, love is always young and at the same time, sorrows are shrouded, and hearts are often wounded. Poetry provides wings when one learn the secrets of the metaphor. There’s a vast universe out there where worlds collide at the tip of the writer’s pen.

Though no one would be able to fully comprehend the pieces that I carefully weaved, I know someone will, someday. Someone who will discover the treasure map I hid behind the cryptic words of allegorical expression–of what I really meant beyond the narration. Someone who will see the different facets of a striving poet, a “noobgrammer” and an enthusiast who dreamed of nothing but for fancy to embody itself, shedding truth beyond the flavors of mystic coating.
– Cyrustale 「サイルステール」 2016

Leave a Reply

